Derwentwater

Walking Diary 2015

DATE WALK DISTANCE ASCENT TIME TAKEN GROUP
Wednesday, 23rd December Moderate walk in Sunnyhurst Woods 3.5 mls Little 2.25 hrs Moderate
Sunday, 13th December Sunday walkers Christmas Dinner and walk 6.5 mls 1,153 ft 4 hrs Moderate & Strenuous
Sunday, 13th December Sunday afternoon Chrisrmas Dinner and walk - - - Easy
Wednesday, 9th December Leisurely Christmas Dinner and walk 5 mls 500 ft 2.25 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 6th December Calderdale Way from Todmorden to Hebden Bridge 13.5 mls 2,400 ft 6.5 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 6th December Higher Brock Bridge, Snape Rake Lane, Waddecar Activity Centre, Weavers Farm, Bleasdale School, Higher Brock Mill, Wickens Barn, Heatherway 7.5 mls 900 ft 5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 2nd December Roddlesworth Reservoirs, Ryal Fold, Tockholes Visitor Centre 4.7 mls 300 ft 2.5 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 29th November Barden Moor, Barden Tower, Lower Barden Reservoir, River Wharfe, Bolton Abbey 10.5 mls 760 ft 4.75 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 25th November Witchwood, Green Drive, Lytham Green, Granny’s Bay and Ansdell 5.75 mls     Leisurely
Sunday, 22nd November Murton Pike, Murton Fell, High Cup Nick, Pennine Way 13 mls 2,600 ft 6.25 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 22nd November The Helm, Natland, Sedgwick, Kendal and Oxenholme 8.5 mls 950 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
October & November Bhutan and Nepal - a trip of a lifetime 5.75 mls 90 ft 2.75 hrs  
Wednesday, 11th November Village Gardens, Bradford Bridge, Ribble Valley Sculpture Trail, Waddow Hall, Eadsford Bridge, Bashall Hall, Rugglesmire and Waddington 8.75 mls 500 ft 4.5 hrs Moderate
Sunday, 8th November Farleton Fell 8 mls 1,100 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Sunday, 1st November Ulgraves, Brunt Knott, Hugill Fell and Reston Scar 12.5 mls 2,600 ft 7 hrs Strenuous
Mid October Join Christine and John on their holiday in Crete        
Wednesday, 21st October Lancaster canal, Ducketts farm, Brow Top, Brock Side, Bilsborrow Hall Farm 5.1 mls 250 ft 2.75 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 18th October Pennine Way, Ickornshaw Moor, Ponden Reservoir, The Bronte Way, The Millennium Way, Keighley Moor, Earl Crag 16 mls 2,300 ft 7.25 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 18th October Ingleton out to Masongill 9 mls 1,680 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 14th October Throstle Nest Farm, Grize Dale, Ghyll Wood 6 mls 800 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 11th October Rantree Fold, Botton Mill,Lowgill, Tatham Fells, The Swans, Great Stone of Four Stones 9.5 mls 1,500 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Sunday, 11th October Ard Crags, Knott Rigg, Newlands Hause, Buttermere Moss and Robinson 10 mls 3,600 ft 6 hrs Strenuous
Wednesday, 7th October Longton 5.2 mls Nil   Leisurely
Sunday, 4th October Wardle, Higher Shore, Higher and Lower Stone Pits, Clay Pot Hill, Rough Hill, Rossendale Way, Middle Hill, Brown Wardle Hill, Stid Fold 8.25 mls 1,500 ft 5 hrs Moderate
Sunday, 27th September Whatshaw Common, Little Yarlside, Great Yarlside, Wasdale Pike, Harrop Pike, Lords Seat, Robin Hood, High House Bank 12 mls 2,300 ft 7 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 20th September Moorside Farm, Little Thornley Hall, Worsaw Hill, Lane Head 11.8 mls 900 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 16th September Rivington Road, Sharples Higher End, Horden Stoops, Winter Hill, A675 4.4 mls 800 ft 2.75 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 13th September Conistone Village, Conistone Dib, Mossdale Scar, Capplestone Gate, Conistone Pie, Dales Way 7.5 mls 1,300 ft 5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 9th September Edgworth Village, Turton and Entwistle Reservoir, Wayoh Reservoir 5.4 mls 750 ft 2.75 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 6th September Kentmere Horseshoe clockwise via Garburn Pass, Yoke, Ill Bell, Froswick, Thornthwaite Crag, Mardale Ill Bell, Harter Fell(Mardale), Kentmere Pike, Shipman Knotts 13 mls 3,750 ft 7.25 hrs Strenuous
Wednesday, 2nd September Bailey Hall, Dewhurst House, Ribchester Bridge, Marles Wood, Dinckley Bridge, Lambing Clough and Hurst Green 5.9 mls 710 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 30th August Phoside, Peep O Day, Edale Cross, Stony Ford, Farlands 9.25 mls 1,550 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 26th August Wrightington area including Hill House Fold and High Barn 5.3 mls 330 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 23rd August Harper Hills, Hare Shaw, The Corpse Road, Selside, Branstree, Gatesgarth Pass, Harter Fell, Nan Bield Pass, Mardale Ill Bell, High Street, Straits of Riggindale, Rampsgill Head, High Raise, Measand Beck 16 mls 3,900 ft 8 hrs Strenuous
Wednesday, 19th August Ribble riverside & Ribble Way 4.6 mls 450 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 9th August Little Langdale, Blea Tarn, Cathedral Caves and Colwith Force 13.5 mls 3,000 ft 7 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 9th August Bolton Hawe Side, Mossy Moor Reservoir, Hebden Beck, Leadmining Trail, Yarnbury, Bare House, Grassington, Linton Falls. 9.5 mls 1,300 ft 5.25 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 5th August Conishead Priory (Manjushri Temple), Salt Cotes, Canal Foot, Ulverston 6.5 mls Little 4 hrs Rail Carders
Sunday, 2nd August Pain Hill, Lanshaw, Stocks Reservoir, Hammerton Hall, Slaidburn and Newton 8 mls 950 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 29th July Waterslack, Hawes Water, Yealand Hall Allotments, Yealand Storrs and Leighton Moss 5.25 mls   3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 26th July The Pennine Way, Great Dun Fell, Little Dun Fell, Cross Fell, The Corpse Road 13 mls 3,000 ft 6.5 hrs Strenuous
Wednesday, 22nd July Sheep House Farm, Tippett House, Horrocks Fold, Horrocks Fold Quarries, Horrocks Moor, Whimberry Hill, Dean Mills Reservoir, Smithills Shooting Hut, Winter Hill TV Mast, Two Lads, Holdens Plantation, Burnt Edge, Walker Fold, The 63 Steps 8.3 mls 1,160 ft 4.75 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 22nd July Penwortham including Ribble Way and Caslte Motte at St Mary's Church 5.5 mls 250 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 19th July Fox’s Pulpit, Stocks, Firbank, Whinny Haw, Lily Mere, Killington Lake 11.1 mls 1,650 ft 7 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 15th July Cuddy Hill 5 mls Nil   Leisurely
Sunday 12th July Barbon, Eskhome Pike , Castle Knott , Calf Top, & Holme Knotts 14 mls 2,500 ft 6.5 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 12th July Spring Wood, Whalley, Calderstones Hospital, Shuttleworth Farm, Brook House Farm, Wiswell, Deer Park Wood, Clerk Hill 8 mls 1,000 ft 5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 8th July Chipping Town End, Pate Farm, Gibbon Bridge, Sheep Cheese Farm, and (Extension) Leagram Deer Park and return past the derelict Chair Factory 6 mls 463 ft 3.25 hrs Leisurely
5th to 12th July The Lancashire Cake to Cakers on the Kintyre Way 91 mls   7 days Cake to Cakers
Sunday, 5th July Knoutberry Haw, Tarn Rigg Hill, Snaizwold Fell, Rise Hill, Aye Gill Pike 15 mls 3,100 ft 7.5 hrs Strenuous
Wednesday, 1st July New Barns Bay, Arnside Park, Far Arnside, Heathwaite, Arnside Knott, Red Hills 5.1 mls 640 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Wednesday, 1st July Rail and Ramble to Halton 7 mls 500 ft 4 hrs Rail Carders
Sunday, 28th June Murton Pike, Murton Fell, Pennine Way, High Cup Nick 13 mls 2,600 ft 6 hrs Strenuous
Wednesday, 24th June Canal towards Burton-in-Kendal, Slane Lane, a bridle way, towards Pickles Wood. Limestone pavement at the base of Crawthorpe Fell. 5.1 mls 350 ft 2.75 hrs Leisurely
Wednesday, 17th June White Horse Bridge, Moons Bridge and Cuddy Hill 4.5 mls 90 ft 2.5 mls Leisurely
Sunday 14th June High Rigg, Clough Head, Calfhow Pike, Little Dodd, Great Dodd, Watson’s Dodd and Stybarrow Dodd 11.5 mls 4,000 ft 6.25 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 14th June Harber Scar Lane, Sell Gill, Old Ing, Calf Holes, Ling Gill Bridge, Swinesett Hill, Nether Lodge, God’s Bridge, Birkwith, Over Ground, Top Farm, Fawber, New Houses 10.2 mls 1,250 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 10th June Above Beck, Hunt’s Gill Beck, Alcocks Farm, Outhwaite Wood, Bowskill Wood, Barkin Bridge, Lower Salter, Pedder Gill, Harterbeck Farm, Outhwaite, Hunt’s Gill Bridge 8.3 mls 1,200 ft 5.25 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 10th June Avenham Park, Preston Junction, Penwortham 5.25 mls 400 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Wednesday, 3rd June Read Park, Spring Wood Picnic Site, Whalley, Whalley Banks 5.5 mls 730 ft 3.25 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 31st May Carrock Fell/ Bowscale Fell 12.5 mls 3,000 ft 6.5 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 31st May Caldervale Mill, through bluebell wood to Church, Rough Moor, Stang Yule, Fell End, Bleasdale Tower, Broadgate, High Moor, Delph Lane, Landskill, Caldervale 4.75 mls 500 ft 2.8 mls Easy
Wednesday, 27th May Lower Reaps, Top of Ramsgreave, Haggs Hall, Mellor Moor, Mellor 5 mls 450 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Wednesday, 13th May Hag Wood, Gate Crag, Simpson ground, Ravens Barrow and Cartmell Fell 8 mls 1,000 ft 5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 13th May Mere Sands Wood Nature Reserve 5.5 mls <100 ft 2.5 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 10th May The Cafe and Place Fell 10 mls 3,070 ft 5.25 hrs Strenuous
Wednesday, 6th May Areas of Adlington, Worthington and Worthington Lakes 5 mls 200 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 3rd May Stenkrith Millenium Bridge, Wharton Hall, Lammerside Castle, Pendragon Castle, Southwaite, Carr House, Nateby, Frank’s Bridge 10 mls 1,135 ft 5.25 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 29th April Wainwright's Toposcope, Billinge Hill, Witton Country Park 5 mls 500 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 26th April Seathwaite Fell, Sprinkling Tarn, Allen Crags, Glaramara, Tarn at Leaves, Bessy Boot 10.5 mls 3,800 ft 6.25 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 26th April Windy Hill Farm, Strawberry Bank, St Sunday’s Bridge, Bleasehall Wood and Barrows Green 7.6 mls 726 ft 5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 22nd April Barley Green, Childers Green, Shuttleworth House, Knotts Bridge and Bentley Wood Green 5.3 mls 380 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 19th April Hawkswick Moor, Park Scar, Arncliffe, Middle House Farm, Great Close, Cote Gill, Hawkswick, River Skirfare 15 mls 3,000 ft 6.5 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 12th April Meadow Head, Water, Spring Gardens, Shepherd Clough, Clough Head, Lower and Higher Sunnyfield, Deerplay, Quebec Farm, Rossendale Way, Compston’s Cross, Clowbridge Reservoir 9 mls 1,150 ft 5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 8th April Old Lea Hall, Millennium Ribble Link, Ashton Park and Preston Docklands 5.8 mls 200 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Wednesday, 1st April Dean Lane, Bowley Scout Camp, Horse Bowers, Moor Lane, Whittle Hall and Dean Clough Reservoirs 5 mls 750 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 29th March Seat Sandal, Grisedale Tarn, Deepdale Hause, Cofa Pike, Fairfield, Great Rigg, Heron Pike, Nab Scar, The Coffin Route 11.6 mls 4,050 ft 7 hrs Strenuous
Wednesday, 25th March Tolkein Trail 5 mls   2.75 hrs Leisurely
Sunday 22nd March Losterdale Valley, Whins Brow, Ouster Rake, Brennand Valley, Whitendale Valley, Dunsop Head, Burn Fell, Beatrix 12 mls 2,640 ft 5.75 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 22nd March Gummers How, Chapel House, Simpson Ground, Juniper Fell, Carr Fell, Rankthorns Plantation, Ravens Barrow, Heights Cottage, Sow How Tarn 10.4 mls 2,000 ft 5.75 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 18th March Eaves House Farm, West Bradford, Waddow Hall, Twitter Lane, Wetters Bridge, Lower New House and Waddington 5.5 mls 500 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 15th March Crookdale, Borrow Beck, Bretherdale, Shap Wells Hotel 14 mls 2,500 ft 6 hrs Strenuous
Sunday 15th March Gibbon Bridge, Leagram Brook, Burnslack, Saddle End 9 mls 1,060 ft 5.25 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 11th March 'The Oxenhope Levadas' 8.2 mls 1,200 ft 4.5 hrs Moderate
Sunday, 8th March Staveley, Kentmere and Grassgarth 13 mls 2,000 ft 6 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 8th March Yealand Conyers. Warton Crag, Crag Foot, Leighton Moss, Leighton Hal 10 mls 1,220 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 4th March Windy Hill Farm, Hawkrigg, Strawberry Bank, Saint Sunday’s Bridge, Low Bleaze, Strang, Barrows Green 8 mls 400 ft 4 hrs Rail Ramblers
Wednesday, 25th February Witch Wood, Green Drive, Lytham Green 5 mls Little 2.5 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 22nd February Todmorden to Brown Wardle Hill 12.5 mls 2,500 ft 6 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 15th February Calton Moor, Weets Top, Mastiles Lane and Roman Fort, Malham Cove (top) and Janets Foss. 12.5 mls 1,300 ft 6 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 15th February Read Hall, Sabden and Lower Clerk Hill 8.2 mls 980 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 11th February Cotton Tree, Winewall, Wellhead, Hill Top, Lower Draughtgates Farm, Dry Clough, Doughty Farm, Sweet Clough, Castercliff Iron Age Fort, Spring Gardens Mill, Carry Bridge 7.3 mls 1,050 ft 4.7 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 11th February Ashton, Lea, Lea Town and Cottam 5.9 mls 250 ft 2.75 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 8th February Upper Barden Reservoir, Lower Barden Reservoir, Bolton Abbey Priory, Middle Hare Head 15 mls 1,800 ft 6.5 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 8th February Upper Rivington Reservoir, Anglezarke Reservoir, Healy nab, Lead Mine Clough, Yarrow Reservoir 8.1 mls 1,500 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 4th February Roddlesworth Reservoirs, Tockholes Plantation No.3, Ryal Fold back to Tockholes Plantation No 3, Witton Weavers’ Way 5.9 mls 300 ft 3 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 1st February Yewdale Fells & Holme Fell 10.5 mls 2,500 ft 5.5 hrs Strenuous
Wednesday, 28th January Wyre Estuary Country Park, Stanah & Wyre Way 4.8 mls 50 ft 2.5 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 25th January Above Beck, Pike Gill Wood, Alcock’s Farm, Outhwaite, Wray Wood Moor, Harterbeck, Pedder Gill, Low Salter, Barkin Bridge, Concessionary Footpath through Outhwaite Wood, Kitten Bridge. 8.3 mls 1,200 ft 5 hrs Moderate
Sunday, 18th January Sharp Haw, Flasby 9 mls 1,150 ft 5.5 hrs Moderate
Sunday, 18th January Hutton Roof Crags, Farleton Fell 11 mls 1,000 ft 5.5 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 11th January Pennine Way, Sell Gill Hole, Ling Gill, Ribble Way, God’s Bridge 12 mls 1,500 ft 6.25 hrs Strenuous
Sunday, 11th January Up Town, Ellel Grange, Thurnham RC Church, Norbreck Farm, Pattys Farm, Cocker Bridge and Cockerham Church 7.5 mls 500 ft 4 hrs Moderate
Wednesday, 7th January Leeds Liverpool Canal, River Darwen, Houghton Tower 5.4 mls ft 2.75 hrs Leisurely
Sunday, 4th January Hollinshead Hall (Ruin),  Solomon’s Temple, Drinkwaters & Great Hill. 8 mls 1,000 ft 5 hrs Moderate